Heroic Effort by Castlelyons Minors

In a pulsating Premier Minor hurling championship final Castlelyons fell just short at Pairc Ui Rinn on Sun.night last against a very fancied Blackrock team. In a hugely entertaining game Castlelyons were beaten by 5 points on the score of 1-16 to 1-11. The 5 point deficit at full time did not do justice to the Castlelyons performance as on the 60 minute mark with just 3 points separating the teams we had a shot come off of the upright and back out to play. Blackrock added 2 further points in injury time to secure victory. It was an outstanding performance from our minor team and one of which they should be very proud.

Having to move up to the top grade this year because of last years B-grade final victory we were given no chance early on but after victories over Dunhallow,and two outstanding successes over Midleton and St. Finbarrs the stage was set for a crack at hurling kingpins Blackrock. Unfortunately it was not to be this year but the team can take heart at the great value and pride they gave us supporters throughout the summer months. It was a great team performance with one outstanding individual performance from captain and “man of the match” Eoin Barry. Among the very large attendance was Cork selector and former goalkeeper Ger Cunningham who a few years ago gave Eoin some coaching lessons. He must be well pleased with himself at Eoins performance not to mention some other great displays on view. We look forward to having more representatives wearing the blood and bandage of the rebel county in the not too distant future.

We congratulate the whole panel of players, coach Barry Fitzgerald, selectors Donal Barry, Peter Murphy and Sean Kenny on a job well done. The panel of players is as follows:
Eoin Barry, Ned Daly, Cian O Leary, Tom Carroll, Stephen Joyce, Colm Barry, Coran Lawlor, Colm Spillane, Eoin Maye, Ronan Bransfield, Darragh Lawlor, Alan Fenton, Ronan O Regan, Anthony Spillane, Shane Moroney, Jack Barry, Brian O Donovan, Shane Fenton, Colm O’Neill, Michael Geary, Declan Varner, Steven Hickey, Liam Moroney, Sean Cronin.

“Latest News” Archives